San Antonio bound for Texas ProStart State Finals

Mar 23
Texas ProStart

The action heats up as 24 teams -- Texas’ best high school culinary arts & restaurant management student finalists, battle it out at the 2017 Texas ProStart Invitational State Finals this Friday and Saturday, March 24-25 at St. Philip’s College, 1801 Martin Luther King Drive in San Antonio, hosted by the Texas Restaurant Association Education Foundation.

Over the course of two earlier regional competitions (Frisco and Round Rock) – 340 students on 103 teams from 75 high schools throughout Texas competed for the chance to advance to the State Finals. A total of 24 teams (12 in culinary and 12 in restaurant management) emerged victorious. The winners of the San Antonio competition will then head to the National ProStart Invitational, April 28-30 in Charleston, South Carolina to represent Texas.

The Texas ProStart Invitational is currently in its eighth year, and the largest state ProStart competition in the country. All competing schools are part of Texas ProStart, an industry-based culinary arts and hospitality program and curriculum. Teams compete in either the restaurant management or culinary category.

Culinary teams demonstrate knife skills, develop and price a three-course menu, which they prepare in 60 minutes. Judges evaluate the teams on creativity, plate presentation, taste, teamwork, professionalism, and safety and sanitation.

Management teams must develop and present a business proposal for a new restaurant concept that includes a defined concept, supporting menu and marketing plan. Teams prepare a comprehensive written proposal along with a verbal presentation. They are tested on their critical thinking skills by reacting to potential management challenges.

The 2017 Texas ProStart Invitational is sponsored by Texas Beef Council, Ben E. Keith Foodservice, Revention, ECOLAB, Auto-Chlor, Les Dames d’Escoffier, BJ’s Restaurant and Kitchen Campus (Chef Johnny Hernandez).

For more information, visit

Frisco Competition – Winning teams:


1. Frisco Career & Technical Education Center, Frisco, TX

2. Academy of Culinary Arts and Hospitality at Byron Nelson High School, Trophy Club, TX (Denton County)

3. Royse City High School, Royse City, TX

4. Poteet High School, Mesquite, TX

5. Brewer High School, Fort Worth, TX

6. North Mesquite High School, Mesquite, TX

Restaurant Management

1. Ben Barber Innovation Academy, Mansfield, TX

2. Frisco Career & Technical Education Center, Frisco, TX

3. Whitehouse High School, Whitehouse, TX

4. Royse City High School, Royse City, TX

5. Green B. Trimble Technical, Fort Worth, TX

6. John Horn High School, Mesquite, TX

Round Rock Competition - Winning teams:


1. John Marshall High School, San Antonio, TX

2. Rockwall High School, Rockwall, TX

3. Miller Career & Technical Center, Katy, TX

4. Glenda Dawson High School, Pearland, TX

5. Round Rock High School, Round Rock, TX

6. Sam Rayburn High School, Pasadena, TX

Restaurant Management

1. Porter High School, Porter, TX

2. Glenda Dawson High School, Pearland, TX

3. Cleveland High School, Cleveland, TX

4. Waxahachie High School, Waxahachie, TX

5. Chapel Hill High School, Tyler, TX

6. Allen High School, Allen, TX


Add new comment

Use your first and last name as your username.
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
4 + 2 =
More information?

* indicates a required field.