Frisco Results - Twelve Teams Advance to Texas ProStart Invitational State Finals

Jan 25

The competition sizzled at the 2018 Texas ProStart Invitational Competition over the weekend at Collin County College in Frisco. The first of two regional Texas ProStart competitions, twelve teams emerged victorious and will advance to the state finals, to be held at St. Phillip’s College in San Antonio, Saturday March 23-24, for the chance to represent Texas at the National ProStart Invitational. 

All schools are participants in Texas ProStart, an industry-based culinary arts and hospitality program and curriculum. Produced by the Texas Restaurant Association Education Foundation (TRAEF), the Texas ProStart competitions are the largest in the country, with more than 320 students competing in either culinary or restaurant management in all competitions. In Frisco, 20 Texas high schools sent a total of 28 teams, (19 culinary and nine restaurant management) to compete.

Ultimately, the top six teams from each category in each regional (Frisco and Houston) will advance to the Texas ProStart State Final competition in March (San Antonio). The winning teams from the state finals then advance to represent Texas at the National ProStart Invitational, which is being held in Providence, Rhode Island on April 27-29. (Above photo: 1st place restaurant management team from Ben Barber Innovation Academy. Photo below: 1st place culinary winners, Academy of Culinary Arts & Hospitality at Byron Nelson High School. ). 

Winning teams:


1. Academy of Culinary Arts and Hospitality at Byron Nelson High School

2. Ben Barber Innovation Academy

3. Azle High School

4. West Mesquite High School

5. Royse City High School

6. Castleberry High School


1. Ben Barber Innovation Academy

2. Royse City High School

3. Dubiski Career High School

4. Trimble Technical High School

5. John Horn High School

6. North Mesquite High School

The 2018 Texas ProStart Invitational is supported by TRAEF partners - Texas Beef Council (Exclusive), Ecolab (Diamond), Ben E. Keith (Platinum), Auto-Chlor (Gold), BJ’s Restaurants, Coca-Cola, Texas Mutual, United Healthcare, Les Dames d’Escoffier (Silver), El Centro College, Nicholls State University and BMI (Bronze).



Add new comment

Use your first and last name as your username.
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
7 + 4 =
More information?

* indicates a required field.